Purbi Purba

1 March 2019

We had hardly set foot at Lukla than we had already been baptised! Considering our French Christian names too complicated to pronounce, we were named according to Sherpa tradition, that is according to our day of birth. Since both of us were born on a Thursday, we are now Purba for Aurélien and Purbi for me… which actually provokes a smile from locals we meet.
The last few days have been spent at a slow pace, as snow and cold invited themselves well and truly to the valley. Both school and worksite have closed as it is really not so easy to work without electricity! For us, it was the ideal occasion to spend more time at the lodge with our hosts. I had promised to tell you about them, so it is with pleasure that I make their presentations.
The Hilltop View Lodge has really been well named! Located beside the route to Everest, it offers an amazing view from the common room, with its massive window, and welcomes each passer-by with a prayer wheel (with a bell!) that everyone activates as a sign of “good luck”. Unfortunately we haven’t met many trekkers who stop overnight. The high season has not really started and the lodge is a little bit hampered by its location : too close to Lukla at the start of the hike, too far from the airport for the last day of the trek.
Too bad for everyone else, we are delighted every morning with our magnificent surroundings! Welcomed by a whole family, we are gradually getting to know them and to receive their generosity and way of taking care of us…and how!
Tendi and Pudgi have been married for a long time and devotedly look after the lodge. Tendi is a real mountain guide, silent and faithful. He has climbed a good number of peaks, including Annapurna and Mont Blanc. Everest ? He almost made it! He was a member of the Italian expedition “Everest 80”, first expedition to include Sherpas (as climbers and not just as porters) and foreigners. The group had unfortunately to give up only 88m from the summit. Every morning, he chants Buddhist prayers, lights a fire and prepares the offerings. His simplicity and fervour touch me.
Pudgi is the grandmother of the house and, like all good grandmothers, always checks whether we have enough to eat, if we are cold or if we need something. As her English is not very good – as is the case for my Nepalese, we understand each other with gestures and it is often very amusing!
Tendi and Pudgi have two daughters: Daianji and Kunga. Daianji works for Action for Nepal and travels between the various villages to visit the schools. Kunga also looks after the lodge. She is married to Sonam who is head of the worksite at the school reconstruction project. Kunga is 26 years old and speaks English well; she often explains the country’s traditions and likes cooking our favourite lunch: tsampa, a sort of traditional Sherpa mash, full of proteins.
There is also Dolma, Pudgi’s niece, who studies at Chaurikharka. She grew up in Taiwan, her mother’s birthplace, and is here to learn Nepalese. In fact, she takes extra classes after school, she is quite determined. Yesterday, we improvised a huge snowball fight, which was terrific!
To assist the organisation of everyday life, two young girls: Angeli and Renouka, work here. They are very shy, but they are gradually opening up and I have no doubt that we will soon be able to play a game of Yatzi together!
And there is Palzoum! She is the daughter of Kunga and Sonam. Even at her young age of two, she acts like a gold thread that links everyone, young and old, Nepalese or not, temporary lodgers or resident members, she provides a ray of sunshine and makes us smile – even when we are freezing!
The teacher I replaced has returned and we now work together in the morning, while in the afternoon I give a hand on the worksite with Aurélien.
In a few days, it will be time to put on our hiking boots and set off to discover the Khumbu Valley. We’ll be going up to passes at 5,500m – let’s hope we will stand the altitude! And as of the end of the month, I shall be back to our mountains in the Valais, whilst Aurélien will continue to help here for another few weeks.
Many thanks for following us in our adventures; we pursue the work with Luklass – it is a great mission!

CHANGE A LIFE TODAY

Your donation is a strong sign for us and a significant contribution to our actions

DONATE

Purbi Purba

1 mars 2019

À peine avions-nous posé le pied sur le sol de Lukla qu’on nous avait déjà baptisés! Jugeant nos prénoms francophones trop compliqués à prononcer, on nous a nommés selon la tradition sherpa, c’est-à-dire selon notre jour de naissance. Tous deux nés un jeudi, nous sommes désormais Purba pour Aurélien et Purbi pour moi… ce qui fait d’ailleurs bien sourire les locaux que nous côtoyons.
Ces derniers jours ont été vécus quelque peu au ralenti, la neige et le froid s’étant invités pour de vrai dans la vallée. L’école et le chantier ont été annulés, ce n’est effectivement pas évident de travailler sans électricité! Pour nous, ça a surtout été l’occasion de passer plus de temps au lodge avec nos hôtes. Je vous avais promis de vous en parler, c’est avec joie que je vous les présente.
Le Hilltop View Lodge porte bien son nom! Situé au bord du chemin pour l’Everest, il offre une vue incroyable depuis la salle commune toute vitrée et accueille chaque passant par un grand moulin à prière (avec clochette!) que tous actionnent en signe de « bonne chance ». Nous n’avons malheureusement rencontré que peu de trekers qui s’arrêtent pour la nuit. La haute saison n’a pas encore réellement commencé et le lodge est quelque peu dépourvu par sa localisation, trop proche de Lukla au départ de la marche, trop loin de l’aéroport pour le dernier jour de trek.
Tant pis pour les autres, nous nous réjouissons chaque matin de notre lieu de vie juste magnifique ! Accueillis par toute une famille, nous apprenons à les connaître petit à petit et à recevoir leur générosité et leur manière de prendre soin de nous…et quelle manière!
Tendi et Pudgi sont mariés depuis longtemps maintenant et tiennent le lodge avec dévouement. Tendi, c’est le vrai guide de montagne, silencieux et fidèle. Il a gravi bon nombre de sommets dont l’Annapurna et le Mont Blanc. L’Everest? Il y était presque! Il a fait partie de l’expédition italienne « Everest 80 », première expédition à associer les sherpas (en tant que grimpeurs et non pas uniquement porteurs) et les étrangers. La cordée se verra malheureusement renoncer à quelques 88m du sommet. Tous les matins, il chante les prières bouddhistes, allume un feu et prépare les offrandes. Sa simplicité et sa ferveur me touchent.
Pudgi, c’est la grand-maman de la maison et, comme toute bonne gd-maman, elle s’inquiète toujours de savoir si on a assez à manger, si on a froid ou si on a besoin de quelque chose. Comme son anglais n’est pas très bon, tout comme mon népalais, on s’entend avec des gestes et c’est souvent très amusant!
Tendi et Pudgi ont deux filles: Daianji et Kunga. Daianji travaille pour Action for Nepal et voyage entre les différents villages pour visiter les écoles. Kunga, quant à elle, s’occupe aussi du lodge. Elle est mariée à Sonam qui est chef de chantier sur le projet de la reconstruction de l’école. Kunga a 26 ans et parle bien anglais, elle nous explique souvent les traditions du pays et aime nous cuisiner notre déjeuner préféré: le tsampa, une sorte de bouillie traditionnelle sherpa emplie de protéines.
Il y a aussi Dolma, la nièce de Pudgi, qui étudie à Chaurikharka. Elle a grandi à Taïwan d’où vient sa maman et est ici pour apprendre le népali. Elle suit d’ailleurs des cours supplémentaires après l’école, elle est courageuse. Hier, on a improvisé une grande bataille de boules de neige, c’était génial!
Pour aider au bon déroulement de la vie quotidienne, Angeli et Renouka, deux jeunes filles, travaillent ici. Elles sont très timides, mais elles se laissent gentiment apprivoiser et je ne doute pas qu’on arrivera bientôt à jouer une partie de Yatzi ensemble !
Et il y a Palzoum! C’est la fille de Kunga et Sonam. Du haut de ses presque deux ans, elle agit comme un fil d’or qui relie tout le monde, petits et grands, népalais ou non, hôtes de passage ou membres résidents, elle offre un rayon de soleil et nous fait sourire… même quand on a trop froid!
L’enseignant que je remplaçais est revenu et on collabore à présent le matin, tandis que l’après-midi je donne un coup de main au chantier avec Aurélien.
D’ici quelques jours, il sera temps pour nous d’enfiler nos grosses chaussures et de partir à la découverte de la Vallée du Khumbu. À nous les cols à plus de 5500m…on espère qu’on supportera l’altitude! Et dès la fin du mois, je retrouverai déjà nos montagnes valaisannes, alors qu’Aurélien continuera à aider ici pour quelques semaines encore.
Un grand merci de nous avoir suivis dans nos aventures et poursuivons l’œuvre avec Luklass, c’est une belle mission!

CHANGE UNE VIE AUJOURD’HUI

Votre don est un signe fort pour nous et une contribution significative à nos actions

FAIRE UN DON